Backyard Falcon (ahem Hawk)

It’s weird living somewhere where there is so much wildlife. I lived in the desert most my life and you see more insects and reptiles then anything else. Oh and pigeons. In Denver though I’ve seen a host of wildlife in the short time I’ve been here. In our backyard alone I have seen Coyote (witch isn’t really new, they live in desert climates too), rabbits, squirrels, owls, mice, rats (which I could have done without), all kinds off odd birds I don’t have names for, geese and falcons.

Today I bring you a few shots of our resident falcon. We’ve caught glimpses of this guy a few times but never within shooting range. In these shots he was right outside our house, hanging out in the tree we’ve seen owls in too. If anyone knows anything about birds, feel free to tell me about this guy. Hope you like him.

Falcon

falcon

Of course I had to try a black and white version. I think its kinda creepy.

Falcon BW

5 thoughts on “Backyard Falcon (ahem Hawk)

  1. It is a Red-tailed Hawk, and a juvenile at that (less than 1 year old). It was born last July or August (You can tell by the coloration and feather patterning). If it is a tree that a raptor has perched in for many years, it has been different birds, and the tree just happens to be a popular one. This bird would not have been perching in the tree until perhaps mid to late August, as it would not have left the nest before that time (unable to fly). Nice looking bird.

  2. P.S. It is not a falcon, but a hawk or a buzzard. Falcon refers to a specific family of raptor that does not include the Red-tailed Hawk, or most other raptors for that matter. (The four main species of falcon found in throughout the U.S. are the Kestrel, Merlin, Prairie Falcon, and Peregrine Falcon. Two other less common species to most of the States are the Aplomado Falcon and the Gyrfalcon.)

    • I was hoping someone would be able to tell me more about him. Thank you so much. I obviously know nothing of birds so it’s nice to know what he is since he hangs around.
      Again thank you for posting!

Leave a Reply

